Pain, pain go away…

December 23, 2011

I talked to my surgeon on the phone yesterday and told her how bad it hurt with the packing in. It’s like I can’t sit, lay down, walk, do anything! The packing also fell out as soon as I got up to pee two days in a row; just plopped right out into the toilet. Her advice was to try a little less packing and see if it helps, and she mailed me another prescription for dilaudid since I’m going to run out before my next appointment.

So last night, instead of struggling to pack the wound where my butthole used to be with a 4×4 gauze, we cut that gauze in half and packed it. Before, half was hanging out, and I think that’s why it fell out twice. Now, most of it goes in, but it stays in better. As for the pain, we’ll see if it’s any different. Last night and this morning were pretty terrible, but it has subsided a little this evening. I still think there is really about the same amount of packing inside the wound, so it still hurts and it is still excruciating to go through the actual packing process. I really dread that every single night, so I hope that it heals quickly, but I still get a lot of bloody drainage as well.

I didn’t really know what to expect going into this surgery and knowing that the wound would have to stay open. I guess I didn’t expect it to be this painful. It definitely makes me wish everything was taken out at once and I was all sewn up, but then I probably would be in a different place in life, and I wouldn’t want that.

Leave a Reply

