Christ.

December 19, 2011

Just FYI, last night’s packing change was a NIGHTMARE. It was soooo painful. There wasn’t any bleeding or anything, but it was probably some of the worst pain I’ve ever felt in my life. I had to tell Rob to stop. I could not tolerate it at all. I literally sobbed after it was finished, and I’ve always thought myself to have a high pain tolerance.

Today, Rob got off the hook, because I had a follow-up appointment with my doctor and she changed the packing. Not as bad as last night, but still very painful. I was very tense and nervous the entire time. She also removed the drain which was no big deal in comparison.

Anyway, I got her to write me a prescription for a stronger pain medication. The percocet just was not cutting it, so she wrote me a prescription for dilaudid. I’m hoping that this helps a lot more, because I do NOT want to go through another packing change like that. Ever.

One Response to “Christ.”

  1. Paul Tascarella said

    Yikes! This episode sounds like a nightmare Piper. Hopefully the new meds will kick in and dull the pain while your body is healing. Even though it’s been ove 30 years for me I remember the butt area being super sensitive and painful until it healed. Hang in there. There’s a lot of us in your corner rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

